Retirement information

My husband and I hope to retire to Málaga, Spain and I have been gathering links to websites with all kinds of retirement-related information, so I thought I’d create a post to put them all in one place.  And, as I find more, I will add them here.

Visa information and retiring to Spain

From the Social Security Administration

Taxes

Teaching English

One thing I am considering is teaching English once we retire to Spain.  I have always wanted to be a teacher and I’ve come across many blogs of Americans teaching English in Spain.  I am intrigued and may pursue this not only as a means to make a little extra money but also to fulfill a dream of mine.

Living in Spain

Health insurance

Since we won’t be able to use Medicare, we’ll need to find insurance elsewhere.

Retirement in general

If anyone out there reading this has other links and/or suggestions, please leave a comment and I’ll update this page.  Thank you!

8 Comments

Filed under Retirement

8 responses to “Retirement information

  1. You’ve already found quite a lot of good info! Teaching English is a good idea; there’s always a demand!

  2. Great resource here, Toby – well done! This information would be useful as an extra page with a permanent link on your page (like your “About” tab), otherwise it will get lost within the posts of your blog.

    Thanks for the pingback. :)

    • hey! I wondered about how I would let you know that I added a link to your very helpful cost of living post. I didn’t realize you would get a pingback so cool! Still learning about WordPress obviously :) I’m not sure about an extra page. I created a “retirement” category thinking that would be sufficient. But maybe I need to link to this retirement post in my “about” page? Is that what you’re saying? I appreciate the help!

  3. Kevin Hoffman

    Hi Toby, I ran into your blog searching for some retirement information in Malaga. My son lives in Madrid now, has for 5 years and is an Auxiliar in a suburb outside of Madrid. We visited the Madrid and Toledo in 2010 and went back to visit Granada and the Costa del Sol from Malaga to Marbella in 2012. We loved the coast, and since reading an article about retirement on the coast of Portugal, I’ve been poking at information along the entire Med coast. Seems to me you should be someone I should keep in touch with. With my son living in Spain now, and you going there in a few years, we might be able to benefit each other at some point. You can also find me on Facebook. ~Kevin

Leave a comment, won't you?

